The Avatamsaka Sutra

What does the Avatamsaka Sutra mainly talk about?

The entire Avatamsaka Sutra (Eighty Avatamsaka Sutra) has seven places, nine chapters, and thirty-nine chapters. The Huayan Sutra mainly talks about three contents:

  1. Talk about the solemn and solemn state of Buddha Vairocana;
  2. Elucidates how to go from being an ordinary person to attaining the status of Buddha, and what vows need to be fulfilled;
  3. With good wealth, the boy traveled south, studied and practiced throughout his life, entered the Samadhi of Samantabhadra, and attained the Sea of Vairocana.

The picture below is an overview of the content of the Avatamsaka Sutra:

Seven places and nine meetings
Eighty Huayan has thirty-nine grades, seven places and nine gatherings. The seven places include three places on earth and four places in heaven:

  1. Bodhi Dojo (on ground):

The six products of the first session (“World Master’s Wonderful Aspects”, “Tathagata’s Appearance”, “Samantabhadra Samadhi”, “World Achievements”, “Hua Zang World Products” and “Vairochana”);

  1. Universal Light Hall (ground): Six sections of the second session (from “The Tathagata’s Name” to “The First Sage”), Eleven sections of the seventh session (from “Tathagata’s Name” to “The Appearance of the Tathagata”), The first product of the Eight Meetings (“Le worldly product”);
  2. Trayastry Heavenly Palace: Third level, sixth grade (promoted to Trayasyli Heavenly Palace grade);

4.Yamaten Palace: The fourth meeting and the fourth rank (ascension to the Yamaten Palace);

  1. Tushita Heavenly Palace: Fifth level, third grade (promoted to Tushita Heavenly Palace grade);
  2. The Palace of Other Transformations: Sixth Level, First Level (Tenth Level);
  3. Chongge Lecture Hall (Emergency Duolin): Ninth Session 1st Grade (Enter the Dharma Realm Grade).

Five weeks of cause and effect
The Avatamsaka Sutra explains the five weeks of cause and effect in four parts:

  1. The cause and effect that the practitioner believes in is the cause and effect of the Buddha that the practitioner believes in.
  2. Differences in cause and effect, discussed in the second to sixth sessions, explain the reasons for the differences in the ten faiths, ten abodes, ten actions, ten circles, ten places and fifty levels. In the seventh session, the Buddha’s unthinkable Dharma quality and the ten body-like sea qualities are explained. , follow the good light and distinguish the results of the difference, this is the difference of cause and effect.
  3. Equality of cause and effect. The Seventh Assembly of Samantabhadra shows the cause of equality of character. The Tathagata appears as a result of equality of character, so it is called equal cause and effect.
  4. The cause and effect of success is mentioned in the Eighth Assembly of the World. It first talks about the fifty-level position, and later talks about the eight phases of enlightenment. Because actions result in actions, it is called cause and effect.
  5. To realize the cause and effect, as mentioned in the Ninth Chapter of Entering the Dharma Realm, it is first clear that the Buddha has achieved the result of his own realization, and then he will understand the reason why the good boy has entered the Dharma Realm. Therefore, it is called the realization of the cause and effect.

four-part structure
The entire Huayan seven chapters, nine chapters, and thirty-nine chapters are divided into four parts: faith, interpretation, practice, and testimony:

  1. Belief, that is, the cause and effect cycle believed in at the beginning;
  2. Decomposition, that is, the second to the sixth cycle of differential causation and the seventh cycle of equal causation;
  3. Action points, that is, the eighth meeting to complete the cause and effect cycle;

Fourth, the certification points, that is, the ninth meeting is to enter the cause and effect week.

bodhisattva path
The level of a Mahayana Bodhisattva practitioner from the initial awakening of bodhicitta to the successful attainment of Buddhahood through practice. The Avatamsaka Sutra lists fifty-two levels, which are divided into ten levels of faith, ten abodes, ten conducts, ten deeds, ten grounds, and equal enlightenment. Wonderful sleep.

fifty-three ginseng
The content of the Avatamsaka Sutra can be summarized by three words: realm, action, and fruit: “edge” refers to the endless world of flowers and treasures where Vairocana Buddha lives; “action” takes the good-wealth boy as an example to illustrate the practice of cultivation. Huayan practitioners must work hard to achieve Bodhi; the “result” refers to the “ten places” that Bodhisattva practitioners achieve based on their efforts.

“Entering the Dharma Realm” records that after the good-luck boy developed the mind of Anuttara Samyaksambodhi, in order to know “how can a Bodhisattva learn the Bodhisattva’s conduct and how can he cultivate the Bodhisattva’s path”, he set out from the solemn hall of the Salo Forest and headed south. Interviewed the stories of fifty-three good teachers. After visiting fifty-three good teachers, the boy Shancai finally completed his practice and “obtained the ocean of Samantabhadra Bodhisattva’s vows of conduct, Samantabhadra, etc., and all Buddhas, etc., and his body filled all the world’s planes, conducts, etc., perfect enlightenment, etc.” , magical powers, etc., Dharma wheel, etc., eloquence, etc., speech, etc., sound, etc., fearless power, etc., Buddha’s abode, etc., great compassion, etc., inconceivable liberation and freedom are all the same.”

Huayan Samadhi

The name of deep meditation, the understanding of the one true Dharma Realm, the principle of endless dependent origination, the practice of the six perfections and four realms, and the path to solemn Buddhahood. Only the great practice of Samantabhadra Bodhisattva can enter the Flower Adornment Samadhi of perfect enlightenment.

The twelfth grade of the Avatamsaka Sutra, the Bodhisattva Bodhisattva, says:

The pure and inconceivable realm supports all Tathagata;

The amplified light is boundless, and the salvation of sentient beings is also infinite;

Wisdom is free and unconceivable, and there is no hindrance in preaching or speaking;

Giving precepts, forbearance, progress and meditation, wisdom and convenient supernatural powers, etc.;

In this way, everything is at ease, with the power of Buddha’s Flower Adornment Samadhi.

Verses from the “Infinite Life Sutra” are proof: “After attaining the Buddha’s Huayan Samadhi, he can proclaim all the sutras.” Jingying said in the “Infinite Life Sutra”: “As Huayan said, this Samadhi unites the Dharma Realm, and all Buddha Dharma is absorbed. Get into it.”


上一篇 4月 17, 2017 3:20 下午
下一篇 4月 17, 2017 10:30 上午



您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注


  • 匿名
    匿名 4月 14, 2017 4:32 下午


  • Lomu
    Lomu 4月 17, 2017 6:24 下午




在线咨询: QQ交谈