The Tripitaka is a collection of all Buddhist scriptures. At first it was called the All Sutras, and later it was named the Tripitaka, also known as the Tibetan Sutra. Because the content of the Tripitaka mainly consists of three parts: sutras, laws, and commentaries, it is also called the Tripitaka.

“Big” in Buddhism is used to express the supreme and all-encompassing meaning. For example, the Buddha’s wisdom is called “Great Round Mirror Wisdom”, the Dharmakaya Buddha is called “Great Sun Tathagata”, and the full name of “Huayan Sutra” is “Great Square Guangfo” “Huayan Sutra”, the full name of “Surangama Sutra” is “Surangama Sutra, the first of all the bodhisattvas who practice the secret cause of the Tathagata on the top of the Buddha, who cultivates and realizes the meaning of the ten thousand deeds”. Big characters have a special meaning of respect in Buddhism. The word Tripitaka takes the meaning of “big” to express the sublimity and breadth of the Buddhist scriptures.

The Tibetan Tripitaka is a series of Tibetan Buddhist books, compiled and compiled by Tibetan monks from works translated from India. Its main content includes Buddhist scriptures, laws, treatises, grammar, poetry, art, logic, astronomy, calendar, and medicine. , technology, etc. From the second year of Emperor Qing’s reign in the Yuan Dynasty (1313 AD) to the 22nd year of the Republic of China (1933 AD), a total of eleven different versions of the Tibetan Tripitaka were carved in various places. In addition, there are two types: the Praka version engraved in Bhutan and the Kulun version in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

  The Tibetan Tripitaka is divided into three categories, namely Kangyur, Tengyur and Songbang. Among them, Kangyur mainly collects laws, sutras and secret mantras, Dangyur mainly collects praises, sutra interpretations and mantra interpretations, and Songbang mainly collects relevant writings of Tibetan and Mongolian Buddhists.

  Compared with the Chinese Tripitaka, the Tibetan Tripitaka has very few re-translations, so the actual content greatly exceeds the Chinese translation of the Buddhist scriptures. It contains two sects' treatises, as well as works on explanations, medical prescriptions, statements, and esoteric scriptures that were popular in late India. , which is unprecedented in the Chinese translation of Buddhist scriptures. In addition, because the translation of Tibetan Buddhist scriptures takes into account the ending changes and syntactic structure of Sanskrit grammar, it can be easily restored to the original Sanskrit text, so it has received considerable attention from Buddhist studies.

  The Chinese Tripitaka is a series of Buddhist classics translated into Chinese. During the reign of Emperor Ming of the Eastern Han Dynasty, the imperial court sent envoys to invite two monks, Shemo Teng and Zhu Falan, from the Western Regions. These two monks not only brought Buddhist statues but also Buddhist scriptures from the Western Regions. Since these Buddhist scriptures were Sanskrit scriptures imported from India, in order to facilitate preaching, Shemateng and Zhu Falan translated the Buddhist scriptures into Chinese. Since then, monks from China and India have continued to communicate with each other, and more Buddhist scriptures have been introduced to China. After ten centuries of hard work by more than 200 translators, the number of Chinese Tripitakas translated from Sanskrit has reached 1,690 In the remaining volumes, more than 6,420 volumes, the Buddhist doctrines of the Shravakayana, nature, signs, sutras, and esoterics were systematically introduced to China.

In the early Song Dynasty, the imperial court organized manpower to publish China’s first Tripitaka, setting a precedent for a large-scale collection of Chinese classics. Since this Tripitaka was published during the Kaibao period of the Northern Song Dynasty, it was also called the “Kaibao”. Since then, all Chinese dynasties have collected and published the Tripitaka, forming a huge treasure of Chinese Buddhism.

  In addition to the Chinese and Tibetan Tripitakas, there is also the Pali Tripitaka, and the three are jointly known in the world. The Pali-language Tripitaka is mainly spread in Sri Lanka and Southeast Asia. It is a Theravada work and is written in Pali, a dialect of Southwestern India. It is also called the "Southern Tripitaka". After the Pali language Tripitaka entered Southeast Asia, it was translated into local dialects and formed into Sinhala, Thai, Burmese, Cambodian, Lao and Dai versions of the Tripitaka, with roughly the same content.


上一篇 4月 17, 2017 3:20 下午
下一篇 4月 17, 2017 3:30 下午



您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注


  • 考拉的生活
    考拉的生活 12月 25, 2017 11:39 上午


  • 考拉的生活
    考拉的生活 12月 25, 2017 11:40 上午




在线咨询: QQ交谈